Nicole Johnson- The Beginning Awaits Us

The physical start to this trip is tomorrow, but when we think about it this all began back in January. When I first got the email about this trip to Nepal I knew it was something that I wanted to be a part of. I did not know if it was something that I could afford to do or not but I knew that this was an amazing opportunity. I talked to friends and family about it to see if it was possible or not. A family member told me that I MUST go and a friend of mine said that it was something that I should do and that the money would come but this opportunity may not come again. With the help and support from friends and families it was made possible. This may be the one and only time that I get to experience something like this and that I am able to travel to this part of the world. I love traveling and where this is not my first time out of the country, it is the first time where I will be able to experience more then just a resort. This trip will not only further my education in psychology with a minor in anthropology but will also further my education about myself. This is the farthest I have traveled and this will test me on what I can handle and what I can’t. I hope to learn about more about another culture,  and to appreciate more then what I experience in my day-to-day life. This is an amazing opportunity and I would not pass it up for anything.

As I pack my things for the next two weeks I am excited for what is to come. I have no idea what I am getting myself into, but it excites me. This is the longest flight I have taken in my entire life, but traveling with a great group of people there will be no problems at all. I am excited to learn and see things that I have never seen before. As the time goes on the more excited I become. I would  be lying if I said that I was not a little nervous going into something that I am unfamiliar with. The time has finally come where the journey begins and all of the prep is going to be worth it. If there is one thing I hope to take away from all of this, I hope to gain a true appreciation for other people, other cultures, and other ways people live their life. Something amazing awaits us and it all begins tomorrow.

We have been learning about the place in which we are staying. There are over 100 recognized languages in Nepal. The most commonly used are Nepali and Nepal Bhasa. Nearly 60% of the population speaks Nepali. Nepali is one of the Indo-Aryan languages, related to European languages. Nepal Bhasa is spoken by nearly 1 million people in Nepal. Goernment and businesses also speak English. Other languages that are common include Maithili, Bhojpuri, Tharu, Gurung, Tamang, Awadhi, Kiranti, Magar, and Sherpa. There are also three languages that have been extinct. These languages are Kusunda, Waling, and Dula. The first story book written in Nepal language was Tantrajkyan in 1518AD. The first song in the language of Nepal was composed in 1523 to 1550AD.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Nicole Johnson- The Beginning Awaits Us

  1. joan johnson says:

    i hope you all have a safe and wonderful learning experience.
    best wishes

  2. joan johnson says:

    i am looking forward to hear all about your days as a world traveler. have fun

Leave a Reply

