Stacee – Trip So Far

This has been a whirlwind of an adventure. The flight from JFK to New Delhi was quite lengthy because I was beyond anxious and itching with anticipation as to what exactly I would be faced with when we landed in New Delhi. The heat was quite high, I believe they said it was 104 degrees. It was a dry heat but still very hot. The taxi ride from the airport to our hotel Lohias was interesting. If you think riding a cab in New York City is thrilling you should try Delhi.

I was exhausted upon arrival and could not wait to fall asleep. We met for dinner and I quickly passed out, only to wake up at 4:30 in the morning to catch our flight to Kathmandu. The flight was on time and I will never forget the image I saw as we descended into Nepal. We were high above the clouds and I could see the snow caps of the himalayas reaching high above the clouds. It was amazing. I could not stop looking.

We are staying now at the Summit Hotel which is also beautiful. My room mate Sarah and I have a room on the corner of the hotel overlooking the houses of Kathmandu, along with the mountains on the horizon. We met for lunch and ventured into the city for some shopping. The van door slid open and we were presented with a beautiful array of jewelry. I picked up a few pieces for friends and family back home. Walking the streets of kathmandu was like, sensory overload. The flags, prayer flags, and signs hung from building to building like christmas lights. The people dressed in their traditional Sariis, linen pants and button up shirts. Motor bikes and vans whizzing through the streets, beeping their horns to warn tourist and the people of Nepal to be aware. I purchased 2 ornate and beautiful tapestries that I cannot wait to share with everyone back home.

Today – June 2nd I woke up at 5:15 and joined Melissa on the balcony outside of my room to chit chat and watch the rain fall. We all slowly got ready and met Geeta for our 7am Yoga class. It was so surreal. The entire time, all I could think was, “is this for real?” I cannot believe I did yoga in Nepal. We had a wonderful breakfast, showered and headed to Little Angels College. They were so welcoming and warm. They greeted us with a warm Namaste and orange marigold necklaces. The little girls of the school lined the hallway we walked down all greeting us in the traditional greeting of Namaste with the palms of their hands pressed together. It was very sweet and overwhelming.

I am beyond excited for what is to come in the next few days. I am loving every minute of this trip. I am blessed to be here.

Nepal is quite the hidden gem.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Stacee – Trip So Far

  1. PSY 460 says:

    Sarah Marchand- Great post roomie!!!

Leave a Reply

